Thift Shop Goodness

A story that has nothing to do with thrift shopping

Posted in 1 by Lisa Twillie on December 3, 2009

Yesterday I attended an award ceremony for the Psi Chi Honor Society here at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR). A friend of mine was being inducted into the organization. At the ceremony there was a guest speaker. (I am terrible with names, so unfortunately I cannot remember his name) He is a practicing psychologist and he told a story about a circus elephant that I have never heard before. So here goes…

In the circus when they get a baby elephant they band one of its legs and then chain the band to a stake in the ground. No matter how much the baby elephant tries to pull free it just cannot. And as the elephant grows, the band on its foot is replaced with a bigger band. And while the elephant is still small, eventually it gives up trying to break free. All the while the stake in the ground is the same. Once the elephant is full grown, it still thinks that the stake will keep it from getting free. The elephant gave up a long time ago and does not realize that it has grown more powerful and stronger than the stake.

I really like this story. It makes me think of all the things in my past that I think are still bigger than me. It made me think of all the ways that I have grown as a person and how I have held onto bad experiences that serve no relevance to who I am now.

Leave a Reply

