Thift Shop Goodness

Cheap and Easy Outdoor Christmas Trees

Posted in 1 by Lisa Twillie on November 25, 2009

This past weekend I began decorating the exterior of my house for Christmas. (agnostic peeps can still really dig the whole Christmas thing!)

I must give credit for the following idea to my Mom. She is the one that made the tomato stand trees first…and well, I just love them! So this year, I decided to make my own.

Here is what you need:

 

  • Wire tomato stands
  • Garland
  • Some wire

Tomato plant stand:

The stand that I used for my trees, were dug out of a neighbor’s garbage.

The first thing you will need to do is turn the stand upside down. Then with some wire, wire the three prongs together. Making the stand into a cone shape.

Next you wrap the cone that you made with your garland. (make sure to use a little wire every now and again to secure your garland to your frame, to prevent slippage)

I have two concrete planters that I used to secure my trees into place.

I buried the bottom portion of the wire cone under some top soil, in order to make the tree more secure.

 

 

 

Here is what the finished product looks like:

Ta-da! this “tree” was made using a wire tomato plant stand! It looks pretty great with or without decorations. (and lets keep our focus on the tree and not the dirty stairs that so badly need to be power washed)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

